Four NCSD Teachers Honored with Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards

On May 16 representatives from Arch Coal visited three different Natrona County School District (NCSD) schools to present four Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards. Lucas Dow of Kelly Walsh High School, Tom Grogran and Heather Wetzel of Natrona County High School, and Suzanne Nelson of Casper Classical Academy were the four NCSD teachers presented with the award. The recipients were four of 10 teachers in the state of Wyoming that were chosen for the prestigious honor, and were selected from 300 nominees statewide. The awardees were chosen from public nominations by a panel of judges made up of former Arch Coal award winners. In addition to a trophy, the honorees also receive a $3500 cash prize.

During the award ceremonies at their respective schools, the honorees were described as having the following attributes:

Lucas Dow

  • he profoundly impacts students from many different angles
  • he excels in his specific field
  • he has an inherent desire to serve

Tom Grogan

  • he is a mentor, ally, sounding board, and a leader
  • he is a relentless advocate for students, to not only be better students, but better humans
  • he is a driving force in providing quality instruction to all students

Suzanne Nelson

  • a professional through-and-through
  • she exemplifies the many attributes of an excellent educator
  • she has an ability to make connections with students, parents and staff
  • she is committed to helping students achieve excellence

Heather Wetzel

  • she make efforts to modernize the teacher content to make it more accessible to students
  • she pours her heart into her lessons and her students
  • she is one of most dedicated and hard-working professionals
  • she is hands-down the epitome of an amazing teacher

Congratulations to all four of NCSD’s Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award winners!


Previous NCSD Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award Winners
2016 – Chrissy Owen – Summit Elementary
2015 – Karen Bayert, Woods Learning Center, Cinnamon Dow – Summit Elementary
2014 – Rob Hill – Transitions, Deyonne Jackson – Woods Learning Center, Wayne Tuttle – Summit Elementary
2013 – Carla Itzen – Kelly Walsh High School
2011 – Brock Burch – Natrona County High School, Cynthia Farrell – Kelly Walsh High School, Chris Henriksen – Willard Elementary, Jackie O’Briant – Casper Classical Academy, Becky Sondag – Natrona County High School
2010 – Mary Johnson – Dean Morgan Junior High, Rod Mahaffey – Kelly Walsh High School
2008 – Jenny Johnson – Crest Hill Elementary
2005 – Kathy Christensen – Crest Hill Elementary, Jeannie Gunderson – Manor Heights Elementary
2004 – Barbara Maguire – Park Elementary
2003 – Mary Beth Peden – Natrona County High School
2001 – Cristina Olsen – McKinley Elementary, Cheryll Westcott – North Casper Elementary

Tags: , ,


More Posts in Blog


Share this Post


1 Comment


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *